Today I decided that since I knew I had to pee in a cup, I would prepare myself and drink a bunch of water prior to going in. However, I started drinking at 1 and finished at 2:45 - I was leaving work at 3:00. By the time 3 hit, I was afraid to stand up from my seat! I thought for sure I was going to pee all over the place. I though happy thoughts and headed home to change and then headed to the doctors.
I arrived at the Dr.'s office at 3:30 - appointment at 3:50 - walked briskly into the building, rode up in the elevator, thinking happy thoughts, and walk up to the counter to check in and she hits me with it. "You're Dr. is about a half hour behind." I just stare at her. Does she not know that I am about to BURST?! I mean how can she not, I am pregnant, all I do is want to pee. Which I hear gets worse the bigger the baby gets. (fantastic)
I sit in my seat...and try to keep myself busy! I email Kate (thank goodness for free wi-fi!), chat with people on facebook, play solitaire...etc.) I swear 45 minutes later, I am finally called. We head to the exam room and the nurse asks me if I left a sample yet. I was like, NO, NO I HAVE NOT! She said, do you think you can?! I laughed and said "I definitely can, I have to go so bad!" She proceeds to tell me that I could have gone prior to being called. That everything I need is out for me to go when I can.
WTF - yes this was going through my head. I held the dang urine for how long?! Needless to say, peeing was refreshing. What wasn't refreshing, was that, there, out in the open, where 4 other pee filled cups. Do you know what I did?! I compared the colors. Mine was almost the same color as someone else's. There was one that was almost green, and she went a lot. I think that she needs some attention. I don't think it's supposed to be green. The other one, I don't remember. Once the greenish pee caught my eye, I made the "blood face" (this is the face you make when you are thinking "that's not right, or ooo i hope that stops bleeding") and left the room. YES, I washed my hands...and I always wipe my cup in case I get pee down the sides. It happens. It's not like it's the neatest process.
While waiting, the intern came in and told me to "unbutton my drawers" so she could listen to the babies heart beat. This woman was so freaking chipper, I swear she was a robot. No normal person is that chipper at 4:50pm. She wore a constant smile on her face. And then she did it. SHE POKED MY ANKLES. I said, 'What are you doing!??". Because I didn't think about it, I was like, why is she looking at my socks?! But then I caught on! I said "Are they swollen?!" She laughed and said "Oh, no, Just checking!"
The little washing machine is still going strong! So cute to hear that. I could feel the interns smile. It was a bit uncomfortable. But I ignored it and listened. She left and I waiting for the doctor and when she got there it was like speed run though of my test results. Everything looked great! She said that next time she sees me we will have an ultrasound! The one where I find out gender! EAAAAAAPPPP! Baby better cooperate or it's grounded for the first week of it's social life. lol
Anyway - It was a good appointment - except for the pee part.

No comments:
Post a Comment