Saturday, November 7, 2009

3rd Trimester...

And so today begins my final journey of pregnancy.....

It started with getting my glucose test. Which if you've never had it, is a crap shoot on how fun it is. Well, really no fun to be had...but still. You drink this orange glucose mixture that tastes like flat orange pop. 10 oz down in 5 minutes. Then you sit there for an hour and then they draw your blood. The hour waiting is the not so fun part. See you don't have to fast, but you can't eat sugar before the test, so it's best to take it in the morning, before you've eaten anything. So...your stomach will be empty and then you will fill it with 10 of a thicker flat orange pop. Yeah...my stomach went up and down for a while - but I never got sick. Now, if you do get sick, you've ruined everything and have to go back and do it at a later time. lol So....try not to yack.

My sister came and sat with me while I waited, which was nice. An hour wait can be long if you aren't properly prepared.

Other baby news:

He kicks. I had the pleasure of him using my rib cage as a jungle gym. I am sure he wasn't swinging from them, but that is what it feels like.

At this point of your pregnancy you can't help but think about birth. Honestly, I am not too worried about that part. It's going to happen one of two ways, and as long as I don't feel anything, I am ok with either. I've been watching a lot of birthing shows and videos to get myself acclimated with what is eventually going to happen to me...some I should have never watched. Its amazing the things that intrigue you when you are pregnant and the things you think you want to witness.

What sorts of things, you ask?! Like a circumcision. Yeah, I was like, well what do they do? What is it like....TRUST ME WHEN I SAY, you are better off NOT knowing this. Just know that it's an option, and if you are going to do it, don't be there. lol OR WATCH. I am having it done to the boy, and I will apologize to him afterwards, however, I do not want to be in the room, or touch the scissors or help.....just do it, and give him to me so I can hold him and make him feel safe again!

My shower is coming up in a few weeks! I am really looking forward to this and starting to get all the things ready for the baby. Getting the crib - and bedding all set up. Lamps hung, pictures hung, and everything in it's place. What would be nice is to find a dresser - so I can put all my clothes in it! Right now they are all on the floor so I could make my closet into storage space!

I still can't imagine myself as a mom - or being responsible for a tiny human, and that freaks me out - but I am sure I will do it to the best of my ability! I hope my kid likes me and gets the best qualities that his dad and I have to offer him.

No comments:

Post a Comment