When we got to the Dr.'s office - we walked to the elevator. Which "dad" had to point out how everyone knew where we were going and why! lol We walked in and I headed for the waiting room and looked behind me and he was gone. He was raiding the candy dish lol We were stared at as we walked in by the woman in their many stages of pregnancy. We were told she was 15 minutes behind. Yeah - more like...an hour.
We talked about funny stories or what would we do if someone we knew walked in. We needed to come up with a good excuse. "This isn't McDonalds?!" We laughed mostly as he did very well at keeping m mind on lighter things. Every time the nurse would come out, he's squeeze my knee. "K....risten" "Did your heart stop beating!" lol I think he was a bit more freaked out than me.
We finally were called and went back.
He sat quietly in the chair while the nurse took my weight and blood pressure. She told me that the gown had to go on - take off all your clothes flap opening in the front. lol She walked out and I looked over and he was like, "Let's read a book!" I threw the robe over his head and told him to not look! It was too medical for him to look! I got changed and we waited some more.
This waiting was the most amusing part of the day! lol He has so much nervous energy he was dropping things, getting up and pacing, pretending to touch all the instruments and then he came to it. The model. I looked at it a few times across the room, but had no idea what it was. He walked over and started laughing. And made a few comments, and picked it up. I had to ask, "What is that!?" To which he started laughing. "What do you mean what is it!? It's woman parts! You should know, you have them!" I started laughing and said I couldn't tell! We laughed a lot and then she came in!
She was very energetic and congratulated us both. She even knew dad's name. I don't care if she just read it off the chart - I was glad she acknowledged him. He smiled and said thank you and i just stared blankly. She said "why does it seem like you are a bit nervous?" I replied simply, "Well I am still in denial about this. I just want to hear the heartbeat to know if this is really happening or if it's dead in there." LOL I have such a way with words. She started telling me how it was a lot of pressure to put on her since you may not hear the heartbeat at 10 weeks, but there was a possibility because I was thin, that we could. (I have never been told I was thin! This was amazing to hear!) So she sat down as said:
Dr: "Did you take a test?"
Me: "Yes" (5 actually, plus a doctors visit, but who's counting ;o) )
Dr: "Are you experiencing nausea or vomiting?"
Me: "Yes"
Dr: "Are your breast sore or tender to the touch"
Me: "Yes"
Dr: "Have you had a period?"
Me: "No"
Dr: "Well, there is a strong possibility that you might be pregnant!"
So we all laugh - because obviously she just made me sound like I was out of my mind - which I am not. lol
The exam starts and I don't even know what is going through "dads" mind. She was very good and kept my mind off what she was doing! Unlike my last Dr! She is talking and then says "Well, everything looks good!" and we both started laughing hysterically. She probably thought we were a bunch of kids! But, it was funny!
Now onto the even neater stuff...
She starts the little thingy to hear if there was a heartbeat. It was probably the longest 2 minutes ever. There was nothing, then you could hear my heartbeat, then nothing, nothing, then my stomach growled, then there was laughter, then the laughter completely stopped as we listened to the heartbeat. "There it is, the proof you need. Congratulation both of you!" I wish she would have held it there a little longer. I wish it was a happier moment to where mom and dad hug with excitement. Instead it was dead silence. Both in the realization that it's REALLY happening now. I got dressed and we walked out to the car. Even past the candy dish and he was right next to me, didn't even want candy.
We drove back to my place and just sat there for a few minutes. He sat there very quiet, and I stood next to him. We just held each other a little bit and then started to try to discuss telling people. He is scared out of his MIND to tell his parents. I want to be there. He thinks I should rethink it. But I am not. I think that we should rip the band-aid off this weekend. I don't think he ever wants to tell anyone. It's been extremely strenuous on our relationship. But I am hoping we can pull through it together. I tend to want to try and fix things - and he tends to try to find ways to avoid them. I think we really can make this easy and less stressful if we are together. However, he will not be there when I tell my dad and mother. Just because I don't want to expose him to what they are going to say.
I know it's going to be bad - but then, I also know, it's going to get better.
At least the first visit was memorable and fun! And I am hoping he will continue to be there for all the other visits. We have another in 2 weeks for the nucal translucency test, and another 2 weeks from that, is my 2nd visit. Which I have to remember to drink before these things, since I have to pee in a cup. It's hard to do when you feel pressured or on the spot. lol

No comments:
Post a Comment